MarketingMoment.com

For those moments when you’re thinking, “I need new business –- and quick!”

Sales or Marketing – Which is Your Bugbear? 8 March 2007

I’m sitting here during my allotted ‘get well, but don’t overdo things’ mode, and squirming at the thought of how much I have let my own marketing to slip behind. Mmmm, I wonder why I hate sales so much…

OK, hate is a strong word. Dislike the connotations it brings, is more like it.

I’m much, much more comfortable and better at marketing – the kind of marketing that produces sales. I’d have to be; else I’d be out of a job. Yikes!

Thing is, I don’t think you can separate the two, inasmuch as they are both co-dependant. Without marketing, you don’t get as many sales. Without sales, you haven’t marketed enough. And without either, you don’t have a business. (Sorry, just had to slip in that one!)

Marketing, to me, is about bringing products, services, talents and other offerings to a marketplace where people buy. Sales involve the exchange of money or its equivalent for products or services.

See what I mean? 😉

What about yourself? Which do you concentrate most of your efforts and time? Which is your bugbear?

COPYRIGHT © 2007, T Dooley

PS Still in the contraption that prohibits me from breathing deeply (not that I make a habit of doing this, urh!), let alone move. Still, it IS protecting my spine, and lessening any further damage to my break, I supposed. If it must. 😉

 

2 Responses to “Sales or Marketing – Which is Your Bugbear?”

  1. bdunc1 Says:

    Great post. It’s amazing how often marketing and sales are lumped into the same category by most people. Same with advertising. Same with promotions.

    Yep, marketing that doesn’t lead to sales ain’t worth its keep, but a product that nobody wants is hard to sell.

  2. Thanks, ‘bdunc1’!

    Absolutely. That’s where most people fail – at the outset. You have to make sure there is a market for your product/service BEFORE spending any money on developing it and well before marketing it. It isn’t enough to just think, “I know I have a great product. It’ll fly off the shelves like hot-cakes!” You have to research the market to see if there is a gap for your product and if there is a need or desirability for it. MHO, anyway. 😉

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

