MarketingMoment.com

For those moments when you’re thinking, “I need new business –- and quick!”

When To Turn Away New Business 10 May 2007

Filed under: Copywriting,Small Business — worddocdooley @ 10:13am

Having been in business for well over 10 years, I have come across my fair share of ‘sharks’ and ‘tyre-kickers’ – basically, people or businesses with whom I really didn’t want to do business, but did, and just about lived through the hell of it all.

Thankfully, I now have my own developed and highly polished radar that sends ‘trouble alerts’ whenever someone new comes along and my gut instinct tells me to stay clear of doing business with them. But occasionally I still get it wrong. I ignored my this invaluable gut instinct not so long ago, and that was a costly and fairly traumatic reminder to the old adage that says to trust it!

So I was relieved to read a post by Debbie Bermont at Connecticut IT News on ‘Seven Reasons to Say No to New Business’. There’s a great deal of wisdom in her post, and I urge you to read it before you take on your next client.

If you don’t have time (hey, bookmark this page, so you can come back to it!), then here are the first four to start you off.

1. Your gut instinct says no.
2. The customer does not appreciate the value of what you offer. (This is a biggie within the copywriting world.)
3. The customer expects you to invest time and resources into pursuing their business without any financial commitment on their end.

To read the remaining entries, complete with anecdotes, click here:
http://www.connectitnews.com/usa/story.cfm?item=731

COPYRIGHT © 2007, T Dooley

Digg This
Press This

 

2 Responses to “When To Turn Away New Business”

  1. Michael Says:

    Enlightening. Come to think of it, there are customers I do not want.

  2. Tee-hee! Only often it’s only AFTER the event that you realise this.

    I’m lucky in that I have worked with some really interesting and/or wonderful people over the years. But I have also had my fair share of ‘eeek! clients’! 😉


Leave a Reply

