MarketingMoment.com

For those moments when you’re thinking, “I need new business –- and quick!”

Student Scoops Top Award With Global-Warming Message 4 July 2007

Filed under: Advertising,News,Online Advertising — worddocdooley @ 7:45am

Student Scott Evans has scooped the ‘Student of the Year’ prize at the D&AD Global Student Awards 2007.

Evans, from the University College for the Creative Arts at Farnham, was honoured with the top prize for his ‘social awareness’, type-faced video for Radiohead singer Thom Yorke’s solo single The Clock.

Taking up the environmental themes of the song, Evans’ promo graphically highlights the waste generated by creating and viewing a music video — and by each and every one of us in general.

I don’t know about you, but I felt guilty for working with my computer, monitor, wireless connection and broadband on while watching the video. I only watched it once, though, as otherwise wouldn’t I be defeating the whole object of the piece?

I’m off out for a meeting this afternoon, and one thing’s for sure: I’ll be shutting down my computer and its related technologies before I leave.

We take for granted our ‘right’ to consume and with it all our ignorance pollutes the very world we live in. This video, for me, reminds us all that we should be thinking of (and acting on) reducing our consumption of resources as much as we can.

What do you think? Is it good advertising, or an ‘anti-media’ experiment designed to prey on our guilt?

To view the video, click here:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTIZ8LTjNNs

For more information on the awards, visit:

www.dandad.org

Want to use this in your ezine, blog or website? No problem! Just let me know. I’ll send you a short resource box/bio to include at the end of the article.

Digg This :: Email This :: Add to del.icio.us

 

Leave a Reply

