MarketingMoment.com

For those moments when you’re thinking, “I need new business –- and quick!”

How Important is a Website? 16 July 2007

QUESTION
“How important is a website? I’ve agonised over it for months and can’t seem to get it together?”
– Ken Helmers

ANSWER
Good question!

Here are some interesting facts…

According to Netcraft, an internet monitoring firm which has been measuring website growth since 1995, in November 2006 there were 101,435,253 websites with domain names and content. This figure is consistently rising – and fast.

So, to answer your question, yes, I think ALL businesses – new and ‘old’, small and big – should have some kind of web presence. Don’t miss out on this growth!

Even though having a website isn’t (yet) a requisite for doing business; it certainly makes sense to have some kind of web presence in order to get or remain competitive in today’s fierce marketplace.

What’s more, marketing experts are predicting that the number of online consumers will grow by about 50% in the near future.

So, I guess the real question is can you afford to be left behind?

Even a simple website or blog presence will do. Just something that allows your potential customers, business partners, investors and employees to find out more about you quickly and easily.

Here are just some of the benefits of having an online presence:

→ You open your doors wide open to an international customer base – tapping into the multi-billion global marketplace makes good business sense.

→ With the use of relevant images, sound and animation combined with magnetic copy your clients get a real interactive feel of doing business with you.

→ Communicating your message through a web presence can be a lot less expensive than traditional media.

→ It offers an easy, convenient way for people to do business with you. The last time I bought tickets over the net (cinema tickets, FWIW), I did so from the comfort of my sofa.

→ You can always keep your product/service information up to date and fresh. If you were to reprint a new offline brochure, the cost could be quite steep. With the web, it’s instant and free to change details.

→ Your information is available to clients and prospective customers 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year.

→ You can sell direct and hang up the phone. Well, almost. With the web, you can change a “just looking” mindset into a “I’m buying that!” one through the use of persuasive, engaging words. It’s your salesman in print, really.

→ Your website’s URL can be put on other promotional material so that people always have a way of finding you.

→ You can collect email addresses – and potential new customers – with a website.

→ It shows people you are serious about doing business.

→ A website can take orders for you.

→ It makes for an excellent and efficient marketing support tool.

For me, having a website really comes into its own when I’m on the phone, for example. If a potential client asks whether I have any testimonials I can show them, I can say, “If you’re hooked up to the web, I can show you them right now.” They type in the link and it’s all done and dusted in a few seconds. The first time I tried something like this, I was impressed by the sheer ease and speed.

Getting started on the web needn’t be a daunting task. There are plenty of host providers who will provide ready-to-go web templates. You just fill in the blanks for the text areas, and upload your website. And, hey presto, you’re open for business online. 😉

Want to use this in your ezine, blog or website? No problem! Just let me know. I’ll send you a short resource box/bio to include at the end of the article.

Digg This :: Email This :: Add to del.icio.us

 

13 Responses to “How Important is a Website?”

  1. Kre8iveminds Says:

    A business can perform excellently if it has powerful website on the web. Internet provides the vast platform to market the products. You are not confined within the limit. You can easily access you potential customer without spending so much.

  2. Hi Kre8iveminds

    Thanks for stopping by and your useful comment.

    Please note my NEW blog address (I haven’t posted to this one for quite some time now):

    http://blog.mediaminister.co.uk

    Take care!

  3. czette Says:

    very good answer!!!i got many ideas from it!!!!

  4. Fred Rivers Says:

    Have you ever considered adding more videos to your blog posts to keep the readers more entertained? I mean I just read through the entire article of yours and it was quite good but since I’m more of a visual learner,I found that to be more helpful well let me know how it turns out. This is good…thanks for sharing

  5. Hi Fred

    Thanks for your comments. Very useful and much appreciated.

    I try my best to offer my ‘readers’ (both my blog and my newsletter subscribers) and clients as many accessible ways to the information and knowledge I share as is possible. For example, with a lot of my DIY marketing products offer both sight and sound to help interactivity and retention of information.

    Video is on my ‘to do’ list, but to date I have had neither the luxury of extra time nor the resources to put my plans into action. One day soon that will change, hopefully… 🙂

    PS Please note my NEW blog address (I haven’t posted to this one for quite some time now):

    http://blog.mediaminister.co.uk/

  6. ibizdesign Says:

    There are many rich benefits to having a website if you have your own business. , Through the website you can reach all over world on the Internet.
    Your clients can visit and get information about your business any time in 24 hours and you’ve got a higher level of customer satisfaction.

  7. Thanks for sharing

  8. dvd complete Says:

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  9. Lucas Raby Says:

    In this day and age you would have to be crazy not to have a website…A successful web design can turn a modest offline business into a serious profit pulling machine…Not only does a business need a website in this day and age but what some people or business owners sometimes neglect is the website promotion / seo side of things…Whilst having a great looking website is great and is a solid starting point, having a website that just sits there and gathers dust is as useless as t*** on a bull…If you are considering getting a website online, be sure to take care of the online promotion side of things as well to ensure you get the most out of your online investment.

    Thanks for the useful content and Ill be sure to come back some time. In the mean time, if anyone here is interested in Free Web Design please feel free to check out my website…We offer Free Web Design and also cover the website promotion side of things that Ive covered here in my comment. Look forward to seeing more posts here.

    Thanks,

    Lucas
    FreeWebDesignSite.Com

    • Thanks, so much for all your great feedback.

      While it’s true that for some services, a website doesn’t need to be updated that often, it is worthwhile adding fresh content on a regular basis. Also, make use of social-networking sites, such as Twitter, and be sure to link back to your main website.

      PS Please note my NEW blog address (I haven’t posted to this one for quite some time now):

      http://blog.mediaminister.co.uk/

  10. wayne32 Says:

    Reblogged this on MY BLOG13.


Leave a Reply

