MarketingMoment.com

For those moments when you’re thinking, “I need new business –- and quick!”

Reader Q&A: Using Other People’s Work 11 December 2007

Filed under: Get Clients Now,Marketing,Web Copy & Web Content,Writing — worddocdooley @ 11:05am
Tags: ,

Question: "If I come across an article that I’d like to use, is it OK to copy it and post it on my website as long as I give credit to the author?"
– by email

Answer: No, apart from the ethics involved, you could encounter a number of copyright-infringement legalities. You really must get permission from the author or source first. They’ll most likely say yes and give you a resource box to include with the article. Best to be safe than sorry, I say.

That said, there are times when an article will be published with a ‘reprint’ box that describes how to use the article for free, providing the author byline or source and any copyright/reprint notices are left intact. Like with the article above.

Got a burning question you want answered? Email it to me and I’ll try to answer it sometime soon.

================================

 

Add my RSS feed to your reader now so you never have to miss a post.

 

================================ 

Want to use this in your ezine, blog or website? No problem! Just let me know. I’ll send you a short resource box/bio to include at the end of the article.Digg This :: Email This :: Add to del.icio.us  

 

Leave a Reply

