MarketingMoment.com

For those moments when you’re thinking, “I need new business –- and quick!”

The True Meaning of Success 18 March 2008

Filed under: Creativity,Small Business — worddocdooley @ 2:10pm
Tags: , , , ,

Far too often, we expect a heck of a lot from ourselves, and push ourselves day in and day out so much that we end up burning out or feeling a complete failure if we don’t achieve the impossible.

Simply acknowledging that you are doing your best, and are happy doing what you’re doing, can be really liberating.

I used to have a really hard time relaxing and switching off from work (a work-from-home burden, I believe). Then I readThe Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle, which I wholeheartedly recommend, and started to focus on what I was seeing, hearing, doing or feeling in the present moment, rather than worrying about what I had done or should have done or need to do…

The True Secret of Success

The point is that you can make each moment a ‘success’ by appreciating the now. If that makes sense! OK, I could be sitting here on a sunny evening worried that I won’t get this newsletter out on time… Or I could be focusing my attention on the present moment, happy that I’m communicating with my readers while the sun is shining!

I know which one I would choose now. And which one would ultimately lead to getting more done. Because when you are happy or passionate about something, anything is possible. Even achieving impossible deadlines.

What do you think? What’s your definition of success? 

================================
Add my RSS feed to your reader now so you never have to miss a post.
 ================================

Want to use this in your ezine, blog or website? No problem! Just let me know. I’ll send you a short resource box/bio to include at the end of the article.

Digg This :: Email This :: Add to del.icio.us  

 

2 Responses to “The True Meaning of Success”

  1. greatfeelings Says:

    Great post, it is amazing how different books can do it for people, the secret didn’t actually work for me, maybe I wasn’t in the right place at the time but Manifesting A Miracle by Gary Evans did it for me, feel free to check out my blogs as I make mention of this amazing book and what it did for me…

  2. Thanks!

    Also, I think it depends on WHEN you read these kinds of books. What worked for me several years ago may well not be appropriate for me or where I am now.

    The key is to read the contents, the prologue (and perhaps the first chapter), and the summary… If by then, you’re hooked and can’t wait to read more, then it’s probably the right book for you. If not, move on… 🙂


Leave a Reply

